Zabowska's Blog

October 6, 2009

New Beginnings

Filed under: Uncategorized — zabowska @ 1:00 am

   Well, I am so new at blogging that I will consider this a New Beginning and see how things go from here. There is so much to learn. And many times, not enough time to do it in. But I do have writing friends who have helped me so much and will continue to do so. And I am so grateful for them.

  I find that one of the hardest things I have to do as a writer is to do all the ancillary things to get myself on the pipeline to publication, so to speak. There are so many venues to explore and not a sufficient amount of time to read, write, research, and spend time on these other things too. But I know all too well that the ancillary things will help me to get noticed and published by prospective markets and possibly magazines. So, it is time well spent.

  Here is my personal story. Until two years ago, I was a full-time academic writer and teacher. I have post graduate degree in Philosophy and Psychology. I have always loved my writing and my teaching. But I felt that my writing lacked balance.  Don’t get me wrong. I love writing philosophical material.  In fact, there are times that I think that this is where my livelihood lies. However, there are other times that I really miss being creative.

  I always knew that I was a creative person. I crochet, sew, and just plain think of new  and creative way to do things all the time. I love gourmet cooking. I take recipes and just take off from them, doing my own thing, adding my own spices, and just throwing this and that. I just love creating meals like that.

  So, when I finally decided to try creative writing, I felt wonderful. I started just by simply writing. I wrote on all kinds of topics, and I filled ten 500 page notebooks with stories on different topics, both fictional and nonfictional ones. That’s when I decided to look into taking a writing course. And I did. I registered with the Institute for Children’s Literature and completed the basic course. Then I registered for the Beyond the Basics Course and am in the process of completing it. A whole world opened up for me that wasn’t there. And I am so happy about this.

  So, here I am.  This is a bit of my story. I hope to add a lot more in the months and years to come. And I look forward to receiving any comments from any of you writers out there who feel the same as me.

Sunny

1 Comment »

  1. Irene,

    Welcome. Funny meeting you here. I just posted a piece on you, part profile part something else. Stop by and look at it, if you’d like. You’ve finally started on this journey called social networking. We’ll have to talk about this at our chat. I’ve got all sorts of places to take you for an introduction.

    I hope you have as much fun doing your writing here as you do writing in the rest of the world. There’s a star out there with your name on it.

    Later, girl.

    Clauds

    Comment by claudsy — October 6, 2009 @ 2:03 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

