Zabowska's Blog

October 26, 2009

Confidence in Writing

Filed under: Uncategorized — zabowska @ 12:17 am

  Very few writers have complete confidence in their own writing. Even well published authors struggle with their confidence and that usually has a real negative affect on their ability to write consistently.

  I believe that writer’s confidence has source deep within us. If we don’t feel good about ourselves, we will probably not have a lot of self-confidence as writers. In other words, writers who have low self-esteem have a tremendously difficult time to write consistently. But why is this the case?

  I think one reason why this may be the case is because writer’s don’t believe what they write will be worthy or noticed by others. Writers want their writing to matter to others. Otherwise, very few writers want to continue writing. Yes, there is the inner joy and contentment of writing. And I am lucky to experience that joy every time I sit down to write. It is a wonderful time of day for me. It is a way for me to be alive in the most precious way that I know. So for me there is an intrinsic worth to writing. What I mean is that I believe that writing is a good in itself.

  However, for some writers, writing can become an ordeal. They feel very uncertain about their writing and whether or not their writing will make an important difference in their lives. They rely on the extrinsic value of writing, and this type of writing makes one feel much more vulnerable and uncertain about their writing. Writing is extrinsically valuable if writers receive external rewards for their writing.

  Therefore, writers who believe that writing merely has an extrinsic value has less confidence in their writing than writers who believe that writing has both an intrinsic and extrinsic value. Now don’t get me wrong. There are no hard and fast rules that this distinction will shed light for all writers. However, it is something that I have observed for a while.

  I would like to know what you all think about this distinction? I used my philosophical background to evaluate writer confidence because I think that the intrinsic/extrinsic distinction can really shed some important light as to why writers may lack confidence in their writing, and why it may affect their output.

Sunny

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

