Zabowska's Blog

November 9, 2009

Writing a Novel

Filed under: Uncategorized — zabowska @ 8:48 pm

   Today, I will reflect on how writers can complete their novels. I will focus not so much
on the mechanics of novel writing. God knows there’s a lot of material out there
there that focuses on that topic.  My concern here will be more on the
psychological restrictions that we experience when we want to write a novel.

 Given that a lot of writers are partaking in  NaNoWriMo, it is important to take a few
minutes to determine why it is so psychologically difficult for some writers to take on
the challenge of writing a novel in a month.
              
  Many writers take up the initial challenge to write a novel. But the challenge of
completing their novel, now that’s a wholly different story. To write a novel, you have
to actually write. Writing is a physical art. And writing a book is a lot more like making
a complex sculpture out of bronze than like writing a bunch of reports. What ‘s in your
head does not count for writing novels. Pencil on paper, or fingers on keyboard, is what
matters. Words on paper, page after page, chapter after chapter.

  I would like to say that there are short cuts.  But there aren’t any. Writers have to write
and they have to write consistently in order for a novel to get written within a month.
This is what makes the task so hard and so complicated to bring about. Writers must
not only love to write, they must have the discipline to write each and every day.

   I fear that a lot of people stay stuck in wanting to write a novel and never actually put
pen to paper long enough to complete it. Most writers at some point or another are on
the verge of creative power. They want to write but they somehow linger like frozen
kids on a high dive. Fear closes in and strangles writers from making a move. Writers
close tightly around their old self that never took risks and tried new challenges. And
writers who don’t sometimes take up a challenge are all the poorer for it.

  Being on the verge of writing a novel is the scariest part for me. Scarier than climbing
up a ladder. But writers must remember that the scariest part is just before you jump.
Once you jump, everything will pretty well take care of itself because I have found, in
my case, that writing usually begets writing.

 So, I urge all my fellow writers to start writing the novel of their dreams.  And
NaNoWriMo will make sure that you do just that if you stick with it. So, take the
plunge and start writing your novel today. You’ll be glad that you did!

  Happy writing!

Sunny

2 Comments »

  1. Good one, sunny. And true.

    Claudsy

    Comment by claudsy — November 10, 2009 @ 9:28 pm | Reply

  2. I am so happy that I stumbled upon your blog. 🙂 I had to laugh because I posted something so similar to what you said about pen to paper- or in my case, fingers to keyboard. 🙂 I make time each and every day to write. A lot of people ask me if it stresses me out trying to formulate and plot a story, but really, it calms me. It’s my escape from a world of chaos. I get to go to the place where my characters live and I love it!! 🙂 Thanks for the fabulous post, from one writer to another!!

    Comment by Bella Channing — December 13, 2009 @ 8:40 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

