Zabowska's Blog

November 27, 2009

Creating Writing Rituals

Filed under: Uncategorized — zabowska @ 8:17 pm

     One of the ways that writers can do one thing different for
       themselves is to create writing rituals until they become habits that
       support your writing automatically. Writing rituals are a type of
       positive addictions. They can help us keep writing or to get writing.
      
       Rituals can be defined as regular habits of patterns that you
       establish to get the writing done. It is best for you to establish
       positive rituals that will help you be the best possible writer that you
       can be. Positive rituals are rituals that help you grow as a writer and
       as a human being, such as having a piece of chocolate as a reward or
       doing something that will enrich your whole being. Negative rituals
       are rituals that may help you get the writing done but will diminish
       you and not contribute to your becoming a better writer and person,
       such as drinking to excess after your writing sessions. 
      
       I  have several rituals that I rely to get my writing done. First, I
       have a ritual of giving myself a small reward for writing each day. It
       could be a small piece of chocolate or a fifteen minute meditation
       session. Some days, I give myself a chance to watch my favourite
       show or something that will make me happy. But I always end my
       writing session with a little reward and it has become one of my
       positive rituals for actually getting the writing done.
      
       Another ritual that I have is that I have a celebration after
       publishing a book. I get my friends and family together, order pizza
       and just enjoy the evening. When I published my first book, my
       family made a reservation for me a nice restaurant and we marked
       the occasion. I still remember how wonderful it felt to get my first
       book published. That feeling keeps me propelled to keep writing my
       current book, especially when the going gets tough.
      
       Rituals can help writers by providing them stability amidst the
       stress of writing. Developing rituals can create a structure that helps
       writers get their writing done while dealing with the ups, downs, and
       challenges of the writing life.
      
              There are many kinds of rituals.  Which ritual do you rely on to get
       your writing done? If you don’t use any rituals, I suggest that you
       develop some types of rituals for yourselves to get the writing done.
       You will be really glad that you did.

Sunny

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

