Zabowska's Blog

January 10, 2010

Is Writing Mostly Rewriting?

Filed under: Uncategorized — zabowska @ 10:10 pm

  Writers find that after their initial burst of raw writing, much of the
   final product is the result of revision. Most writers spend as much time
   revising as they do writing. This goes for writers who write books and
   articles and novels.
  
   However, having said that, most writers spend some time at least in
   the creation phase when they are trying to get as many words on the page
   as possible. That is part of the fun of writing and it is the inspiration
   stage of writing.
  
   For myself, this is the best stage of writing. I just love to be able to sit
   at my notebook computer and just type whatever comes into my mind.
   There is nothing more liberating than that for a writer. However, this is
   not the be all and the end all is it? After the writer has typed the words
   on the page, then the arduous task of revision starts in earnest.
  
   Some writers not only accept the importance of revision but accept it
   with gusto. I will be honest I accept and know importance of revising in
   my own work, but I don’t like to revise. I just know that it is a necessity. I
   actually find revising boring, and did for a long time until I had a real
   revelation a while ago.
  
   Revision is like tidying a messy drawer or cleaning a cluttered room.
   What you are really doing is getting rid of what you don’t need in your
   manuscript as you would get rid of things you don’t need in a room such
   as pop cans, water bottles, extra books that you will not be using right
   away, and extraneous files. When I started seeing revision like a
   cleansing process, I started viewing revision with the same kind of
   necessity as keeping my study decluttered.  And that is when I excelled at
   the process of revising.
  
   So, writer, declutter your manuscripts by taking the time to revise
   them. Get rid of all of the extraneous material such as redundant words,
   passive phrases, typos, grammatical errors, repetitions, and so on. Your
   manuscript will feel much lighter and cleaner. 
  
   Irene

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

